County Councillor for Penrith West Division

Cllr Helen Fearon

District:  Eden

Address:  59 Wordsworth Street, Penrith, Cumbria  CA11 7QY

Tel:  07825 203248



Behind the title:  Helen Fearon

An interest in national politics and the work of local councils was the catalyst for Helen Fearon’s entry into politics.  In her early twenties, what she saw as the anti-British policies of Tony Blair’s Labour Party decided her that she was a natural Conservative. 

After joining Penrith and the Border Conservative Association and helping in the 1997 General Election she became, in turn, chairman of the Penrith Branch, the Southern Area Executive and then of Cumbrian Conservative Future, successor to the Young Conservatives.  In 1999 she was elected to represent Penrith North Ward on Eden District Council, becoming its youngest member. 

After three years gaining experience on a wide range of committees and serving on the governing bodies of Brunswick School and UCC, she had to resign from the District Council due to a conflict of interest with her employment as a Magistrates Courts Officer.

Following this she had little involvement in local politics until in 2009 she was inspired by local issues to stand for the Penrith West Division on Cumbria County Council (CCC), where she has served as both Chairman and Vice Chairman of CCC’s Local Committee for Eden. 

Among Helen’s spare time interests are reading and constructing and furnishing dolls’ houses, although working with local residents remains her main focus. 

See Also

County Councillor for Houghton & Irthington Division

Cllr John Mallinson

District:  City of Carlisle

Parishes:  Hayton; Hethersgill; Irthington; Scaleby; Solport and Stapleton; Stanwix Rural

Address: 2 Wordsworth Court, Carlisle, CA3 9DA

Tel:  01228 533746 or 07968 251365

County Councillor for Longtown & Bewcastle Division

Cllr Val Tarbitt

District:  City of Carlisle

Parishes:  Arthuret; Beaumont; Bewcastle; Kingmoor; Kirkandrews-on-Esk; Kirklinton Middle; Nicholforest; Rockcliffe; Solport & Stapleton; Westlinton

Address:  The Corner Flat, Naworth Castle, Brampton, Cumbria  CA8 2HF

County Councillor for Brampton

Cllr Lawrence Fisher

District:  City of Carlisle

Parishes: Askerton; Brampton; Burtholme; Farlam; Kingwater; Midgeholme; Nether Denton; Upper Denton; Walton; Waterhead

Address:  26 Hanson Place, Warwick Square, Carlisle, Cumbria  CA1 1NG

Tel:  01228 512550

County Councillor for Penrith Rural Division

Cllr David Whipp

District:  Eden

Parishes:  Brougham; Cliburn; Clifton; Dacre; Gt Strickland; Kirkby Thore; Little Strickland; Morland; Newbiggin; Newby; Sleagill; Sockbridge & Tirril; Temple Sowerby; Thrimby; Yanwath/Eamont Bridge



County Councillor for Greystoke & Hesket Division

Cllr Tom Wentworth Waites

District:  Eden

Parishes:  Castle Sowerby; Catterlen; Greystoke; Hesket; Mungrisedale; Skelton

Address:  Luham Cottage, Edenhall, Penrith, Cumbria  CA11 8TA

Telephone:  01768 889010

County Councillor Kirkby Stephen Division

Cllr Phil Dew 

District:  Eden

Parishes: Tebay, Orton, Ravenstonedale, Waitby & Smardale, Soulby, Crosby Garrett, Mallerstang, Nateby, Wharton, Hartley, Winton, Kirkby Stpehen, Brough Sowerby, Brough, Stainmore, Musgrave, Helbeck, Kaber